Constitutional Commission meets

Staff Reporter – 

The Constitutional Offices Commission held its first meeting on April 17, 2015 in Suva.

The Commission, established under Section 132 of the Fijian Constitution, advises the President for the appointment of a number of Constitutional Offices.

They include the Chairperson and Members of the Human Rights and Anti-Discrimination Commission; Chairperson and Members of the Electoral Commission; Supervisor of Elections; Secretary-General to Parliament; Chairperson and Members of the Public Service Commission; Commissioner of Police; Commissioner of the Fiji Corrections Service; Commander of the Republic of Fiji Military Forces; Auditor-General; and  Governor of the Reserve Bank of Fiji.

The Commission consists of the Prime Minister (who is also the Chairperson), Attorney-General, Leader of the Opposition, two persons appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister (currently businessman Sanjay Kaba and Fiji National Provident Fund Chairman Ajith Kodagoda) and one person appointed by the President on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition (currently lawyer Richard Krishnan Naidu).

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on May 8, 2015.



The first meeting of the Constitutional Commission in progress


Sharing is caring!

Related posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: