New categories promote sportsmanship

With the 2013 Indian Newslink Indian Sports Awards drawing upon us again, I am very pleased that nominations are coming in encouraging numbers.

This year’s Awards will see three new categories, including Boxing, Back Stopper (Kabaddi) and the one I am most looking forward to, namely, Sports Administrator of the Year.

After the success of last year’s awards, I am certain that we would witness fierce completion in all categories at the Sports Awards 2013.

Vibrant event

The Awards Night, due to be held on Saturday, April 6 at ASB Stadium in Auckland’s Kohimarama, promises to be as vibrant as last year as we celebrate and acknowledge the sporting success and prowess of the athletes from the Indian community.

Category winners from last year, who are continuing to shine in their chosen sport include David Bhanna (Rugby League), Bhupinder Singh (Cricket) and Rocky Khan (Rugby Union).

I am sure that we will acknowledge someone who will be a household name in the future at the Awards Night this year.

As done last year, all applications and nominations will be thoroughly examined and evaluated by our independent panel of judges. They would certainly face the formidable challenge of selecting the finalists and winners in each category and choosing the Supreme Indian Sportsman of the Year and Supreme Indian Sportswoman of the Year.

Nominations for various categories close on March 8 2013.

They must be on the official entry form by email to

There will be no extension on the last date for receipt of entries.

I therefore urge you to send your nominations as soon as possible and avoid disappointment of missing out later.

I also urge all clubs and club officials to take the time to nominate those they think have performed credibly during the 2012 season.

Steve Smith is the Convener of the independent Panel of Judges of the Indian Newslink Indian Sports Awards 2013.

Conditions of Entry

The Indian Newslink Indian Sports Awards 2013 are open to sportspersons of Indian origin (those qualifying for ‘People of Indian Origin Card’ or ‘Overseas Citizenship of India’ status recognised by the Indian Government). Entrants must be either citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand.

Entries to various categories are only by nomination through recognised and registered sports clubs, associations and organisations in New Zealand.

Entrants must enter only the category relevant to them and must be endorsed by a sports club, association or organisation in the prescribed official entry form. Entries from individual players and in format not prescribed will not be accepted.

Entry forms and other details can be obtained from Ravin Lal, Managing Director and Publisher, Indian Newslink on (09) 5336377 or on mobile 021-753699. Email:

Completed forms must be sent by email only to on or before 6 pm on March 8, 2013. Entries received after this date and time will not be accepted.

Entries sent by any other means to any other address will not be considered.

There are 15 individual categories, entries to which should be separately entered. Winners in each of the categories will be evaluated for the ‘Indian Newslink Indian Sportsman and Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award 2013’.

Sharing is caring!

Related posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: