The Significance of 108

Sourced Content

The Indian Subcontinent rosary or set of mantra counting has 108 beads.

108 has been a sacred number in the India since long.

Ancient Indians were excellent mathematicians and 108 may be the product of a precise  mathematical operation (e.g. 1 power 1 x 2 power 2 x 3 power 3 = 108) which was thought to have special numerological significance.

Powers of 1, 2, and 3 in math: 1 to 1st power=1; 2 to 2nd power=4 (2×2); 3 to 3rd power=27 (3x3x3). 1x4x27=108.

There are 54 letters in the Sanskrit alphabet. Each has masculine and feminine, Shiva and Shakti. 54 times 2 make 108.

The Sri Yantra

On the Sri Yantra, there are marmas where three lines intersect, and there are 54 such intersections. Each intersection has masculine and feminine qualities. 54 x 2 equals 108. Thus, there are 108 points that define the Sri Yantra as well as the human body.

Heart Chakra: The Chakras are the intersections of energy lines, and there are said to be atotal of 108 energy lines converging to form the heart chakra. One of them, sushumnaleads to the crown chakra, and is said to be the path to Self-realization.

Time: Some say there are 108 feelings, with 36 related to the past, 36 related to thepresent, and 36 related to the future.

Astrology: There are 12 constellations, and 9 arc segments called namshas orhandrakalas. 9 times 12 equal 108. Chandra is Moon, and Kalas are the divisions within ahole.

Planets and Houses: In astrology, there are 12 houses and 9 planets. 12 times 9 equal 108.

Sun and Earth: The diameter of the sun is 108 times the diameter of the Earth.

In Islam, the number 108 is used to refer to God.

In the Jain religion, 108 are the combined virtues of five categories of holy ones,including 12, 8, 36, 25, and 27 virtues respectively.

Sikh: The Sikh tradition has a mala of 108 knots tied in a string of wool, rather thanbeads.

Chinese: Chinese Buddhists and Taoists use a 108 bead mala, which is called su-chu, and as three dividing beads, so the mala is divided into three parts of 36 each.

Stages of the soul: Said that Atman, the human soul or center goes through 108 stages on the journey.

Dance: There are 108 forms of dance in the Indian traditions.

There are 108 Upanishads, the most sacred books of Hindus.

Source: Exotic India- published with their permission.

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: