Fiji honours Murray McCully with highest Award

Auto Draft

Venkat Raman

Auckland, July 14, 2019

Mr Konrote honours Murry McCully (Facebook)

The Government of Fiji has made former Foreign Minister Murray McCully ‘Companion of the Order,’ for his services to the Republic of Fiji during his tenure in the New Zealand Cabinet under the John Key government.

Fiji’s President Major General (Retired) Jioji Konusi Konrote bestowed the Honour on Mr McCully at an Investiture Ceremony held in Suva on Friday, July 12, 2019 attended by Ministers of the Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama government, officials and diplomats.

He said that the government acknowledges “the exceptional contribution by Mr McCully for re-activating the New Zealand-Fiji Recognised Seasonal Employment Work Scheme in 2015 and for spearheading and coordinating New Zealand’s timely assistance to Fiji during the aftermath of Tropical Cyclone Winston in 2016.

Fiji’s President Major General (Retired) Jioji Konusi Konrote speaking at the Investiture Ceremony on February 12, 2019 (Picture from Facebook)

Turbulent times

Addressing Mr McCully at the Awards Ceremony, Mr Konrote said, “I am deeply honoured to bestow you with the Honorary Award of Fiji’s Companion of the Order for your personal commitment and perseverance in your former Parliamentary role as New Zealand’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, in assisting with our countries’ wish and endeavour to restore bilateral relations during a period of rather turbulent relations between us,” he said.

Mr Konrote said that the Investiture Ceremony is another testament of the Government’s commitment to ensure that the Culture of Appreciation and its recognition of individual’s selfless contributions to nation building continues to be acknowledged and justly rewarded.

Dr Jiko Luveni

The President also presented the ‘Global Health Leadership Award’ posthumously to Dr Jiko Luveni in recognition of her outstanding leadership in Global Health.

Dr Luveni, who was the First Female Speaker of the Fijian Parliament, was described as ‘a very dedicated, humble and compassionate person,’ and was noted for her achievements as a Dentist, Sportswoman, Civil Servant, Community Worker.

Dr Luveni, who died on December 22, 2018, was honoured with the Award at the 72nd World Health Assembly held in Geneva in May 2019.

The Award was received at the Investiture Ceremony by her husband Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) Inoke Luveni.

Other Recipients this Year

Anthony Whitton being appointed Officer of the Order of Fiji (Picture from Facebook)

Among the other recipients of various Honours at the Investiture Ceremony were Anthony Whitton (Officer of the Order of Fiji); Narendra Prasad (Member); Lorosio Jope Qiriamo, Lepani Raisowalu, Daya Ram, Raymond Mukesh Mano Mani Reddy, Pastor Rocco Leo,  Kameshwar Prasad, Isaia Saukuru, Rajesh Kumar Patel, Praveen Chandra Naidu (Medal of the Order of Fiji); Samueli Sautamata Ritova, Sakaraia Koroi, Emosi Delaibatiki (Bravery Medal).

About the Honours System

The Order of Fiji is the highest honour of the Fijian honours system and is presented for achievement and merit to Fiji and humankind in general.

The Order of Fiji was a Commonwealth honour from its re-admittance to the Commonwealth on December 20, 2001, to its second full suspension from the Commonwealth on September 1, 2009. The Order of Fiji is awarded in a Military Division and a General Division.

It is awarded in three classes and a medal with the following postnominals: Companion (CF),

Officer (OF), Member (MF) and Medal (MOF).

The President of Fiji serves as the Chancellor of the Order and also as the Order’s Principal Companion. Following their term of office, former presidents remain as Companions of the Order of Fiji.

Former Recipients

Among the previous recipients were Mr Bainimarama, Iliesa Delana (First Fijian to win a Gold Medal for Fiji at the Paralympics; Sir Kamisese Mara (Former Prime Minister); Petero Mataca (Former Roman Catholic Bishop of Suva, Fiji); Tony Philp (Former Windsurfing Olympic Champion); Sir Paul Reeves (Former Governor General of New Zealand); Ben Ryan (Former Fiji Rugby Sevens Coach); Vijay Singh (Golf Champion) and Chris Cracknell (Former Coach of Fiji Rugby).

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: