New Auckland District Health Board Chairs announced

Dr David Clark

Wellington, April 29, 2018

I have pleasure in announcing new chairs to lead Auckland’s three District Health Boards DHBs). The Auckland, Waitemata and Counties-Manukau DHBs have had acting chairs since December following the resignation of Lester Levy, who had led all three boards.

No one should underestimate the task of governance in our public health service.

DHB chairs play a vital role overseeing the delivery of health services to New Zealanders.

These are demanding and important roles. I am more than pleased with the calibre of people that have agreed to step up to lead the DHBs.

The new Chairs are:

Pat Snedden, Auckland DHB (from June 1)

Judy McGregor, Waitemata DHB (from June 10)

Vui Mark Gosche, Counties-Manukau DHB (from May 3)

Experienced Leaders

All three incoming chairs are experienced leaders with long records of public service. I know they will provide strong leadership and support the Government to deliver on our vision of a high quality public health service.

“I want to thank the acting chairs who have taken the reins at the three DHBs since December. Kylie Clegg at Waitemata and Gwen Tepania-Palmer at Auckland will continue as members of their respective boards.

Rabin Rabindran and fellow board member Mark Darrow will finish their time at Counties Manukau DHB on May 2. I thank both for their service and contribution.

Crown Monitor for CMDHB

“I have also decided to appoint a Crown Monitor at Counties Manukau DHB, which is dealing with a number of complex issues, including an urgent need for capital investment and forecast rising deficits.

The Crown Monitor, Ken Whelan, will attend and observe all CMDHB meetings and support the Board as they continue to address these challenges.

Today’s announcements represent a significant refresh of the leadership of Auckland’s health services.

About the New Chairs

Pat Snedden is Director of the Ports of Auckland and has previously chaired both the Auckland and Counties Manukau DHBs. He is also currently chair of the Big ideas Charitable Trust, National Science Challenge and Manaiakalani Education Trust. He has received the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education and Maori.

Judy McGregor is head of the School of Social Sciences and Public Policy and Associate Dean Postgraduate in the Faculty of Culture and Society at Auckland University of Technology. She is a former Human Rights Commissioner and is Patron of the Auckland Women’s Centre.

Vui Mark Gosche is the CEO of VakaTautua, a national not-for-profit ‘by Pacific for Pacific’ health support service provider. He is a former MP and Minister for Corrections, Housing, Transport and Pacific Island Affairs.

Dr David Clark is Health Minister of New Zealand.

(Picture from Facebook)


Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: