Seek funding from New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO

Expression of Interest closes on June 30

Robyn Baker

Wellington, June 19, 2017

The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO is calling for Expressions of Interest for its contestable funding round by 30 June.

Applications are primarily being sought for ‘major grant’ funding from $15,000 to the level of $40,000. Minor grant funding is also available for amounts under $5,000.

We are seeking innovative projects, events, programmes or initiatives that reflect our mission and strategic priorities.

Organisation of Ideas

As UNESCO is an organisation of ‘ideas’, we are especially interested in projects that demonstrate new ways of working and which have the potential to lead to positive long-term change at a national or regional level.

The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO’s mission is ‘Connecting Aotearoa-New Zealand to UNESCO and the world by the fostering and sharing of ideas; and contributing to building the knowledge and capabilities needed to ensure a better future for all’.

Strategic Priorities

Successful applications will need to align with at least one of the National Commission’s following strategic priorities: to provide a catalyst for New Zealanders to be innovative and responsible global citizens at all ages; to develop innovative approaches to intercultural dialogue, the sharing of knowledge and the fostering of mutual understanding; and to enrich our understanding of the world by drawing on the use of diverse forms of knowledge including scientific evidence and traditional knowledge.

Expressions of Interest are due by June 30.

Shortlisted applicants will be invited to submit a full application, which will be due byJuly 30.

The National Commission will be accepting applications for minor grant funding throughout the year; however, applicants must leave at least six weeks between their application and the activity.

For more information and an application pack visit

Robyn Baker is Chairperson of New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO. She is here (fourth from left) with (from left) Secretary General Vicki Soanes, Communications & Information Commissioner Trish Carter, Natural Science Commissioner Dr Geoff Hicks, Special Advisor (Youth) Danielle Newton, Education Commissioner Dr Cheryl Stephens, Social Sciences Commissioner Materoa Dodd and Culture Commissioner Dr Arapata Hakiwai.

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: