Team Chennai wins first Tamil Cricket Tournament in Auckland

Staff Reporter
Auckland, April 13, 2021

Tournament Winners: Marina Boys (Chennai)

In what was described as ‘an intense finish,’ Team Chennai won the Rolling Trophy at the final match of the first Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 held at Kumeu Cricket Club on April 4, 2021.

The Team, known as Marina Boys, defeated Theri Machans (Trichy or Tiruchirappalli) to claim Tournament Title.

High Scoring encounter

As well as the Trophy, the Team won $750 cash prize, while its player Mohan Rathnakumar was declared the Best Performer of the Team.

Organiser Mahesh Shan said that the final match was a high scoring encounter.

Runners-Up: Theri Machans (Trichy)

“Theri Machans (Trichy) batted first, scoring 197 in 20 overs with their Skipper Hari scoring 82 off 33 balls. He was well supported by Sagar with 50 runs and two wickets. But Mohan of Marina Boys (Chennai) scored a match winning knock of 83 from 32 balls and they finished the match in the 17th over. It was a very intense game,” he said.

Tournament Stars

Pradeep Chakravarthy, Captain of Vaigai Veerans (Madurai) was declared All Round Performer with 150 plus runs and five wickets to this credit. He also won a voucher valued at $100 and a Medal.

Best Performer: Pradeep Chakravarthy (Marina Boys, Chennai)

Mohan Rathnakumar of Marina Boys (Chennai) scored 202 runs and qualified for the Best Batsman Award. He received a voucher valued at $50 and a Cup.

Best Batsman: Mohan Rathnakumar (Marina Boys, Chennai)

Adarsh Ramasubramanian of Vaigai Veerans (Madurai) picked up 12 wickets including a six-wicket haul in one game, earning the title of Best Bowler of the Tournament along with $50 voucher and a medal.

Best Bowler: Adarsh Ramasubramanian (Vaigai Veerans)

Team Performers

Mr Shan said that one player from each team was recognised as the Best Performer.

Among the winners were Gowtham RS of Coimbatore Mapilais (Coimbatore), Aldrin Roy of Theri Machans (Trichy), Pradeep Chakravarthy of Vaigai Veerans (Madurai) and Mohan Rathnakumar of Marina Boys (Chennai).

Ashwin of Coimbatore Mapilais (Coimbatore) was recognised for scoring the first hattrick.

Mr Shan said that he had organised the Cricket Tournament in the Indian Premier League (IPL) format through an auction which determined Team Owners and Captains.

“This was the first edition of the Cricket Tournament played by members of the Tamil community who have migrated from Tamil Nadu. As well as playing good Cricket, our objective was to encourage unity and foster healthy relationships among the members of all communities. As we had hoped, the Tournament was a good beginning,” he said.

Coimbatore Mapilais (Coimbatore)

Expression of Interest

He said that since the Tournament was announced, there has been expression of interest from members of the Tamil community in Wellington and Dunedin.

“This idea came up when I started to organise the Cricket Tournament for the Tamil Community in Auckland two months ago. I am fortunate to have the support of the Main Title Sponsor, Associate Sponsors, Co-Sponsors and friends,” Mr Shan said.

Thrive (A part of Victor Fashions Limited) was the Title Sponsor of the Tournament. Care and Cure Physiotherapy, Renexus and Thiru Subramaniyar Aalayam were Associate Sponsors.

Vaigai Veerans (Madurai)

Among the Team Sponsors were Ammu’s foods and DTR Consultants (Coimbatore Mapilais, Coimbatore), Scrap Mart (Marina Boys, Chennai) Blue Brown Housekeeping and Victor Fashions Limited (Theri Machans, Trichy), and Symbionic (Vaigai Veerans, Madurai).

New Zealand’s Under-19 leg spinner Adithya Ashok was the Chief Guest at the Finals.

The Chennai born Cricket Star, who was accompanied by his father, expressed an interest to join the Tournament next year.

Indian Newslink honoured him with the ‘Best Under 19 Cricket Player’ Award at its Sixth Annual Indian Newslink Sports, Community, Arts and Culture Awards 2019 held on June 24, 2019.

New Zealand’s leg Spinner Adithya Ashok at the Finals

Games Analysis

Game One: Vaigai Veerans vs Coimbatore Mapilais: Ashwin scored the first Hattrick of the TPL in the first game. Karthik Rajendran scored the Match winning knock from Vaigai Veerans.

Game 2: Theri Machans vs Marina Boys: Mohan scored a quick 40 and picked three wickets for Marina Boys on a losing cause. Aldrin was the game changer for Theri Machans and contributed for the victory of the Team.

Game 3: Coimbatore Mapilais vs Marina Boys: Gowtham scored the first TPL 50 runs, claimed a wicket on a losing note. Mohan set up the pace for Marina Boys and emerged as a game changer for them with 65 Not Out.

Game 4: Theri Machans vs Vaigai Veerans: Aldrin scored 61 runs on a losing cause. Vaigai Veerans Skipper Pradeep was a standout performer with bat and ball.

Game 5: Coimbatore Mapilais vs Theri Machans: Anand from Theri Machans scored 50 runs and took the Team to an easy win.

Game 6: Vaigai Veerans vs Marina Boys: Captain Aaron of Marina Boys picked up three wickets and 30 runs but ended losing. Surya supported the team with 31 runs in 16 balls and Adarsh of Vaigai Veerans stole the show with six wickets in a single game and led the Team to victory.

Qualifier 1: Theri Machans vs Vaigai Veerans: Skipper of Vaigai Veerans led from the front with 43 runs and picked up two wickets ball but lost the game. Karthik Kumar of Theri Machans took three and 30 runs, entering the Team into the Final Match.

Eliminator: Vaigai Veerans vs Marina Boys: It was a low scoring game between the two teams. But Ulaganathan of Marina Boys scored a match-winning 50 runs, taking the Team to the finals.

The above story has been sponsored by

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: