Mahatma Gandhi Centre marks its Silver

Chandu Daji – 

The Auckland Indian Association (AIA) celebrated the 25th Anniversary of the Mahatma Gandhi Centre with a donor’s dinner on November 15, 2015.

The Silver Jubilee celebrations started with a dance followed by speeches, distribution of Awards and certificates to all past Presidents, Secretaries and Treasurers of the last 25 years.

Auckland Indian Association President Parshotam Govind and Mahatma Gandhi Charitable Trust Chairman Kanu Patel provided a historic perspective of AIA.

Honoured Guests

Former Auckland Mayor Les Mills was the Chief Guest.

Mahatma Gandhi Centre marks-Past Presidents, Secretaries and Treasurers with Phil GoffOther dignitaries present were Auckland District Court Judge Dr Ajit Swaran Singh, Members of Parliament Phil Goff (Labour), Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi, Dr Parmjeet Parmar (National) and former Labour MP Dr Rajen Prasad. About 550 donor members attended the function.

In 1989, an opportunity arose to purchase Findlays Bakery at 145 New North Road, Eden Terrace, Mt Eden comprising 1.5 hectares of land and buildings.

Tireless efforts

It took almost four years of tremendous sacrifice of time and effort by many officers and executives and members to create one of the finest Indian Community Centre in the world.

Generous donations from members, together with funding from various organisations helped to build the centre which today provides a hub for celebration of cultural festivals, religious and social activities, weddings, and a Gujarati school.

Mahatma Gandhi Centre marks-Cutting the CakeIn 1994, the Mahatma Gandhi Centre was officially opened by then Prime Minister Jim Bolger.

Chandu Daji is a former President of Auckland Indian Association. He fondly remembers the dedication and service provided by Indian Newslink since its establishment in November 1999. It was during his time that the Indian media in general and this newspaper in particular received equal treatment and respect.

Photo :

  1. Lighting the Lamp of Progress- Kanu Patel, Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi, Les Mills, Phil Goff and Parshotam Govind
  2. Proud officials of the past and present- Presidents, Secretaries and Treasurers
  3. AIA President Parshotam Govind cuts the Silver Jubilee cake, watched by (from left) Ashok Darji, Chandu Daji, Harshad Patel and Kanu Patel

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: