New appointments at Legal Aid Commission in Fiji

Supplied Content
Suva, Fiji, August 31, 2018
Attorney General Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum has announced appointment of new members to the country’s Legal Aid Commission.
The appointments took effect on August 23, 2018 with a tenure of three year.
The Legal Aid Act 1996 stipulates that the Legal Aid Commission comprise the Solicitor General, the Chief Registrar, three legal practitioners and two members of the public.
The New Members
The new members are legal practitioners Mele Rakai, Virisila Lidise, Ritesh Naidu, Fiji Disabled Peoples Federation President Joshko Wakaniyasi and Frank Hilton School Chief Executive Sureni Perera.
In accordance with the Act, Solicitor General Sharvada Sharma will be Chairperson of the Commission and Chief Registrar Yohan Liyanage will be a Member.
Appropriate time
Mr Sayed-Khaiyum said that the government was excited to welcome the newly appointed Commissioners at a time when legal aid offices and services are rapidly expanding in Fiji.
“The Commission is already the largest law firm in Fiji, and it is growing faster than ever, providing greater access to justice and free legal services to those Fijians without the means to afford a lawyer. Just this past year, we have opened new legal aid offices in Savusavu, Korovou, Nabouwalu and Levuka, with plans to open new offices in Taveuni, Keyasi and Seaqaqa very soon,” he said.
“Our new appointees from the legal fraternity have decades of combined experience in the public and private legal sectors, where they have acquired a range of impressive skill-sets that will be a huge asset to the work of the Commission. We are also excited to welcome Mr Wakaniyasi and Ms Perera who both have a record of service to the Fijian people, particularly those most vulnerable in Fijian society,” Mr Syed-Khaiyum said.
(Pictures Supplied)

Related posts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: